New Years Resolution ……What’s the Point?

2016 banner

With 2016 approaching in a few weeks, it has got me thinking. A LOT! Not on a new year’s resolution but about myself, my purpose, my bad habits, and my truth. It’s made me question how my actions and behaviors over the past year have influenced who I am today. This morning while cleaning my room I came across a notebook where I created a very detailed plan of how I would “Make it Happen in 2015” this was literally my headline for my list. I read over my plans and my descriptions of how I would “make it happen” per say. After reading the list I sat back and realized I haven’t done shit ! I mean I could cross off about 5 out of the 30 things listed, but for me that’s a bit pointless. So I sit back and ask myself, what’s the point of a new year’s resolution?

For me Procrastination is literally my nemesis, my kryptonite, It’s the bad angel that sits on my shoulder. As a person who dreams almost every other second of the day, procrastinating is the last thing I should be partaking in. But ultimately this is something I can control. How hard is it to do what we plan to do? It sound so easy… right? Well it’s actually one of the hardest things for me to beat. So what’s the point of a new year’s resolution, I ask myself again. The Webster definition of Resolution is a firm decision to do or not to do something or say what you mean and mean what you say as my mother always says.

So I ask you, what’s the point? Don’t go into the New Year making list that will be disregarded by February. One thing I have learned over the last 365 days is that it doesn’t take forever for your moment to come. Consistency and dedication is key. Also learn yourself, and be honest. You may not be the star but you can contribute to how that star shines. For me I’m going into 2016 learning me , the foundation is set for greatness, and I must make it a priority to discover my point, my purpose and how I can be a better me.  That’s something that no list can match.

 

Thanks for reading my mental reflection of the day. I hope this helps you when thinking about how you’ll make 2016 a good year for you.

 

XOXO!

Leave a Reply

